The Eyelids of Time’s Torch.

I keep seeing this structure,
When I close my eyes to the setting sun,

The red that lights the skin like clay,
The beating veins that pulse with pumps,

The bumps like bright stars shining,
Are my eyes seeing, is this real?

What is this message on the back of my eyelids,
Why is this image an emotion I feel?

I study the look of what I can’t explain,
As the picture fades from view,

The climax contained behind closed eyelids,
Issues an edict of truth,

Reflect the light of what you cherish,
Cherish the light that you inflect,

Your body is but a vessel,
Your time is a torch to pass to the next.

Leave a Reply

